Breaking Highlands county news, local sports and events, and weather from Highlands Today | | Highlands Today
Sunday, Jul 05, 2015

Sebring Raceway's new HOF Class

Special to Highlands Today

Sebring - The Sebring International Raceway Hall of Fame has announced its 2014 inductees.

Vic Elford, Wayne Taylor, Bob Tullius, Peter Gregg and Brumos Racing join the prestigious Sebring Hall of Fame's class of 2014 to be inducted the day before the 62nd running of the Sebring 12-hour classic.

Vic Elford won the 1971 Sebring 12 Hours co-driving a Porsche 917 with Gerard Larrousse.

He also finished second at Sebring in 1968, the same year he won the 24 Hours of Daytona. Elford won class twice at the 24 Hours of Le Mans (1967, 73) and has 13 F1 World Championship starts to his credit

Wayne Taylor won the 1996 Sebring 12 Hours co-driving with Eric van de Poele and Jim Pace. He also finished third in 1994.

Taylor has won the Rolex 24 at Daytona twice and also won the inaugural Petit Le Mans at Road Atlanta in 1998. He currently campaigns a prototype in the new TUDOR Championship, driven by his sons.

Bob Tullius and his Group 44 team pioneered the concept of professional motorsports with immaculately prepared race cars and transporters.

His first of 14 starts at Sebring came in 1963 at the wheel of a Triumph TR-4. Tullius won the GTO category in his Group 44 TR-8 and finished fourth overall in 1985 driving his Jaguar GTP prototype.

The late Peter Gregg won Sebring overall in 1973 co-driving with Hurley Haywood and Dr. Dave Helmick. Gregg also has two class wins at Sebring (1970, 72) and four victories in the Rolex 24 at Daytona. Gregg won six IMSA GT championships and two Trans-Am Championships during his stellar career.

Gregg led Brumos Racing throughout most of the 1970s and 80s, making the famed "No. 59" entry one of the most dominant forces in sports car racing.

Brumos has entered the Sebring 12 Hours 20 times, claiming one overall and three class victories. At Daytona, Brumos has won overall three times and added four class victories. Based in Jacksonville, the Brumos name has become synonymous with endurance racing success.

The Sebring Hall of Fame was established in 2002 at Sebring's 50th Anniversary celebration. Inductions are held every other year, taking place the day before the running of America's premier endurance race. The 2014 Hall of Fame induction luncheon will be held on Friday, March 14 at the Chateau Elan Hotel and Conference Center, overlooking Sebring's famous Hairpin turn, the day before the 62nd Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring Fueled by Fresh from Florida.

The luncheon is open to the public and tickets ($200 donation to the Sebring Hall of Fame) are available by calling 863-655-1442 x205.